Image Image Image Image Image

Hello from Amman, Jordan

Moderators: YAK_Den, Yakface.com Staff

Bossk67
Midi-Chlorian

Hello from Amman, Jordan

Postby Bossk67 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:38 pm

Having joined the forum, I feel it is good manners to introduce myself, especially as I have become a regular viewer of the rebel recap podcast; and have found myself lurking on the forum of late.

In the real world, I go by the name of Warren and I am a Brit in my 40s, who is currently resident in Amman, Jordan. My wife works for a large international aid charity and we moved out here at the beginning of 2015 so she could take up a regional role working on the refugee crisis in Syria.

Although a long-time Star Wars fan, I am a relative newbie to the world of modern star wars figures. I was 10 when Stars Wars first landed in 1977, and so became an owner of a few [long since gone] OG figures from the first movie, but had moved onto [Atari et all] video & computer games by the time ESB & ROTJ were released. It was the announcement of the new movies and release of the first TFA teaser trailer that piqued my interest and I decided then, that I liked the idea of picking up a few figures when the new movie landed in 2015. In the interim, I thought it would be cool to pick up some figures from the OG movies. The last time I had looked in toy stores [when buying birthday presents for children of friends] it seemed to be wall-to-wall figures everywhere, so I assumed I would be able to stroll into any toy store in the UK [where I was living at the time] and have a choice of pretty much any character! It came as a bit of a surprise when I discovered that the opposite was true; there were hardly any figures to be found anywhere.